Challenges Facing Bay Area Coast Guard Pilots

Topic: The Coast Guard saves thousands of lives each year, what’s the quickest way to get help? Ever wanted to learn more about them?
On Wednesday, August 19, 2020 at 19:00 Pacific Daylight Time (20:00 MDT, 21:00 CDT, 22:00 EDT, 16:00 HST, 18:00 AKDT, 19:00 Arizona, 02:00 GMT)

Select Number:
WP15101310

Description:
Water rescues, stranded boaters, and capsized boats require immediate response from the Coast Guard to save lives. The Coast Guard practices every day for these scenarios but it’s only a matter of time before a real incident occurs; and that’s where they’re put to the test.

San Carlos Flight Center invites the Coast Guard Air Station San Francisco, to share the unique air operations they encounter on a daily basis. The men and women of the Coast Guard have to be constantly on guard to handle the unexpected; learn how they prepare for it. In this seminar, the Coast Guard will share how to increase your survival during and after ditching, how they conduct ELT searches, and much more. Furthermore, they will show the different ways you as a pilot can help the Coast Guard in these tense situations, how to get help faster, and save your life.

You won’t want to miss this seminar if you are interested in learning more about Coast Guard Operations in the Bay Area, or more importantly how to become a safer, more knowledgeable pilot.

Lt Jacob Marks’ has many responsibilities in the Coast Guard such as a MH-65 Dolphin Pilot, instructor pilot and flight examiner. My collateral duty is managing a safety system for our Air Station as a Flight Safety Officer. I enjoy flying in the challenging demanding conditions of the bay area and California Coast while helping those in need. I look forward to meeting you and discussing our operations in the bay area and California Coast!

To view further details and registration information for this webinar, click here.

Pilot Preventable Safety Wire Accidents

Topic: Pilot Preventable Safety Wire Accidents
On Wednesday, August 12, 2020 at 18:00 Pacific Daylight Time (19:00 MDT, 20:00 CDT, 21:00 EDT, 15:00 HST, 17:00 AKDT, 18:00 Arizona, 01:00 GMT)

Select Number:
WP11101362

Description:
Owners operators are allowed to perform preventive maintenance on their aircraft as found in the FAR Part 43. This presentation reviews the correct way to safety wire and to be able to identify if you have safety wiring on your aircraft done incorrectly . This presentation also covers, identifying corrosion on hardware to include turnbuckles. There have been several aircraft accidents from cable turnbuckles failing.

To view further details and registration information for this webinar, click here.

Ten Secret Sights on the California Coast only Pilots can See and How to Fly them like a Pro

Topic: Learn a new type of Bay Tour from the eyes of a geologist and NOAA Research Pilot
On Thursday, August 13, 2020 at 18:30 Pacific Daylight Time (19:30 MDT, 20:30 CDT, 21:30 EDT, 15:30 HST, 17:30 AKDT, 18:30 Arizona, 01:30 GMT)

Select Number:
WP15101192

Description:
California pilots are treated to the jaw-dropping beauty of the coast on a regular basis, but we bet you’ve never seen it like this. Join us, a former NOAA research pilot and a PhD Geologist, as we take you on a new kind of coastal tour to unlock ten secret sights you can only see from the sky.

We’ll spice up your coastal flying with an aerial tour of history and wildlife spanning all the way from Mendocino to the Channel Islands and teach you ten easy to follow tips and tricks to keep you safe while you fly it. Learn where to spot whales and sharks, how to fly along the San Andreas fault, and hear wild stories of flying for science. We’ll cover all this all while learning how to protect our ocean treasures by flying safely over the coast.

All pilots are invited to attend this truly unique and fun opportunity. Don’t miss out on this webinar a pilot recently called “one of the best I have seen in my 17 years of flying in the Bay Area.”

CDR Matthew Pickett, NOAA (Ret) served twenty years providing operational support for research missions aboard ships, small boats, aircraft, and SCUBA diving, and rose to become Chief of the Remote Sensing Division Flight Branch. He flew a DeHavilland Twin Otter and Cessna Citation on far-flung missions including Arctic polar bear surveys, high-altitude mapping, and fisheries enforcement.

After retiring from active flying, CDR Pickett served as the Operations Manager for the NOAA Collaborative Center for Unmanned Technologies and in 2016 co-founded the nonprofit Oceans Unmanned with the mission to facilitate the use of unmanned technologies for environmental research and monitoring.

Wendy Kordesch is the Outreach Specialist at the Seabird Protection Network, and builds partnerships with pilots to help wildlife thrive on our coasts. She holds a PhD in Ocean Science and has presented to dozens of pilots, flying clubs and organizations across the Bay Area, as well as the US Coast Guard.

To view further details and registration information for this webinar, click here.

Useful Rules of Thumb for Aviators and How We Came Up With Them

Topic: Aviators use rules of thumb to help them both in the air and on the ground. Who came up with them and why are they useful?
On Saturday, August 8, 2020 at 12:00 Pacific Daylight Time (13:00 MDT, 14:00 CDT, 15:00 EDT, 09:00 HST, 11:00 AKDT, 12:00 Arizona, 19:00 GMT)

Select Number:
WP15101200

Description:
Aviators use rules of thumb because they provide simple techniques to solve, quickly, possible time critical aviation problems. Often, the simple calculations offered in rules of thumb are only approximations of a more complex derivation.

San Carlos Flight Center invites AGI Michel Vidal-Naquet to discuss how pilots can effectively use these rules of thumb in order to help them both on the ground, and in the air. In this seminar, we will present a number of rules of thumb useful for both VFR and IFR pilots, and show how they come to be. We will provide mathematical derivations based on elementary trigonometry principles and high-school level physics. While the mathematical derivations will appeal to the curious, all attendees will gain a better understanding of the rules and will, hopefully, integrate some into their flying to make them safer pilots.

If you are looking to broaden your understanding of the formulas you use while flying, this is the seminar for you.

Michel Vidal-Naquet is an advanced ground instructor and an instrument rated private pilot with about 680 flight hours. He started flying in 2013 after settling in the Bay area to work as a computer scientist and engineer. His passion for aviation began during his early childhood when his family first took him on international flights. He brings a scientific point of view to his flying, and is always learning.

To view further details and registration information for this webinar, click here.

IMC Club Meeting (online only) Lincoln EAA 1541

Topic: IMC Topics Are Taken From Real Life Events and Discussed to Aid the Decision Making Process for Pilots.
On Wednesday, August 5, 2020 at 19:00 Pacific Daylight Time

Select Number:
WP25101155

Description:
This is an audience participation event. After a brief Audio/Video presentation we ask “What Would You Do”? Everyone is encouraged to join in the discussion. Videos depicting actual flights that encountered challenges are chosen from a library provided by EAA . Pilots of all skill levels are encouraged to attend. Click the link below for more information and to register TODAY.

To view further details and registration information for this seminar, click here.

Online chapter meeting this coming Wednesday 7/15

For our July meeting, we are delighted to have Stephen Stein, an aviation accident investigator for the National Transportation Safety Board, present a safety program on how the NTSB does its work, what to expect if you are involved in an aircraft accident, and other topics particularly relevant to homebuilt aircraft safety. This month we will change over from Webex to Zoom as the provider for our online video and audio teleconferences.

This program will be eligible for FAA Wings credit, by registering here. (If you are interested in this, please register not later than the end of the day on Tuesday, July 14th.)

Whether or not you register for Wings credit, you can join the meeting online at 6:30 pm on Wednesday, July 15 by clicking here.

The link to join the meeting will be sent out via email again on Wednesday morning.

Follow us on Facebook Gold medal

NTSB Aircraft Accident Investigations – What to expect if you are involved in a crash

Topic: Crashes due to EAB build error, engine failure, LOC, traffic pattern . What a surviving pilot should do next.
On Wednesday, July 15, 2020 at 18:30 Pacific Daylight Time
Location:
online only

Select Number:
WP25100984

Description:
As part of the member meeting for EAA chapter 1541, Stephen Stein, an NTSB investigator, will talk about crashes of experimental and certified aircraft, and some of the causes.
What pilots might do to reduce the risk of a crash.

This is an audience participation event. After an Audio/Video presentation you will be able to ask questions.

To view further details and registration information for this seminar, click here.

Online IMC club meeting this coming Wednesday

Our July IMC club will be an online Webex from 19:00 to 20:00. this coming Wednesday, July 1st. Our special topic will be a discussion of the issues of transitioning from round gauges to glass cockpit automation. We will also have a ‘What Would You Do?” video scenario.

FAA Wings credit is available by registering here and all are invited to participate.

You can use this Webex link to join the meeting, and it’ll be sent out again to email subscribers on Wednesday morning.

Follow us on Facebook Gold medal

Need a pilot and aircraft to fly Boy Scouts, 7/8

George Harden is assisting several Boy Scouts to get their Aviation merit badge. The Boy Scouts need to fly in an airplane for a short flight, similar to a Young Eagles flight. George has 17 kids signed up, and needs one additional pilot with an airplane. The date is July 8th, and we will meet at the gazebo at 09:00.

We should easily be done flying by 10:00. The kids will all be wearing masks.

Let Bruce Estes know if you’re able to help out.

Follow us on Facebook Gold medal

Online June chapter meeting this coming Wednesday, June 17th

Our online chapter meeting will begin at 7 p.m. this coming Wednesday 6/17. The theme of this month’s meeting is “Celebrating the Achievements of our Chapter’s Student Members

EAA chapter 1541’s student members have been productively engaged during the unusual times we are all experiencing.

Amy Whelan will lead off our June online program with a presentation on her Ray Scholarship flight training and private pilot practical test experience.

The second feature of our monthly program will be chapter 1541’s youthful “Sim Team” – Anthony Moreno, and Hannah and Kevin Treehan. They completed the FlightSim One simulator pod and its computerized contents in mid-March, just as the chapter had to pause its face to face meetings. The team is now busily at work and will give an update report on FlightSim Two, a full motion flight simulator that is a true research and development project.

Our program will also include a brief video from EAA national that talks about plans for an online Aviation Week that will replace AirVenture Oshkosh, and a Homebuilder Hint on how to fix loose headset jacks.

This Webex teleconference will begin at 19:00 on Wednesday, June 17.

To join on Wednesday, at the appointed hour you can just click here.

Follow us on Facebook Gold medal