NAFI – ABCs of FAA Enforcement Actions

Topic: Learn About FAA Incident And Accident Responses And Programs Designed To Enhance Safety In The National Airspace System
On Wednesday, April 21, 2021 at 19:00 Central Daylight Time (17:00 PDT, 18:00 MDT, 20:00 EDT, 14:00 HST, 16:00 AKDT, 17:00 Arizona, 00:00 GMT)

Select Number:
CE03104749

Description:
This presentation will cover the FAA’s response to aviation incidents, accidents, and occurrences (pilot deviations), the pilot’s rights and obligations in this process, and how these programs are designed to create a safer environment for all.

Pilots will learn about;

  • Proper and Timely Response to the FAA, Pilots Rights and Obligations
  • NASA Reporting System designed to “lessen the likelihood of aviation accidents”
  • FAA’s Compliance Program that “stresses a collaborative problem-solving approach”
  • Remedial Training “to gain future compliance with FAA regulations through training, thereby enhancing safety in the National Airspace System (NAS)”
  • “Brasher Notification” and more

To view further details and registration information for this webinar, click here.

Lincoln Display Day, Saturday 17th

The monthly Display Day is on Saturday April 17th at KLHM. The weather is going to be great. A high of 85 degrees and winds to 8mph. No excuses there.

An ongoing request is that everyone consider helping with this program by signing the work party roster and volunteering to help on a Saturday or two throughout the year. It’s actually fun and easy to do, so don’t be shy, give it a try!

Managed by Gary Patburg and Bob Butera

Unique IFR Approaches

Topic: While we are used to certain approaches around our local vicinity – how often do you investigate unique approaches elsewhere?
On Wednesday, April 21, 2021 at 19:00 Pacific Daylight Time (20:00 MDT, 21:00 CDT, 22:00 EDT, 16:00 HST, 18:00 AKDT, 19:00 Arizona, 02:00 GMT)

Select Number:
WP15104699

Description:
Instrument pilots develop familiarity with instrument approaches based on a review of the approaches they typically fly. There is a lot of similarity among the information contained in the majority of approach procedures. Every now and then, you come across an approach that may make you stop and wonder what the notation means. Can there be a glide slope on an LDA? What are some of the more challenging holds that you might find?

San Carlos Flight Center invites Herb Patten, CFII, to share a select set of approach plates for their unique procedures. He will cover how to identify unique approach procedure notations and sift through the clutter to identify the vital differences.

While you may not actually fly one of these approaches, getting a broader exposure to some of them will make you a more informed instrument pilot. We will use examples of approaches from around the country. Join us to be a more prepared, and knowledgeable instrument rated pilot.

Herb Patten is the Chief Pilot at the San Carlos Flight Center, a CFI and an FAA certificated advanced and instrument ground instructor who teaches private pilot ground school at San Carlos Flight Center. He is a commercial pilot with an instrument rating, has flown over 1,500 hours into at least 120 different California airports. He is the current chairman of the Upwind Foundation, famous for its Upwind Summer Scholarship Program. In 2015, Herb was named a Master Instructor by the National Association of Flight Instructors.

To view further details and registration information for this webinar, click here.

IMC club this coming Wednesday, April 7th

Our online April IMC club meeting will be from 7 to 8 pm this coming Wednesday. The special topic will be “A Technical Look at the ILS”, by CFII Scott Thompson, and we will have a What Would You Do? scenario involving an ILS (of course!)

FAA Wings credit for this event is available by clicking here, and all pilots are invited to attend.

To join the Zoom Meeting, click this link

Meeting ID: 899 8951 5717
One tap mobile
+16699009128,,89989515717# US (San Jose)
+13462487799,,89989515717# US (Houston)

Dial by your location
+1 669 900 9128 US (San Jose)

Follow us on Facebook Gold medal

VIP Movement Notification – Oakland, CA

Notice Number: NOTC1756

Notice: Expect VIP movement April 5, 2021 in the vicinity of Oakland, CA. Pilots can expect temporary airspace restrictions in conjunction with this VIP movement.

The FAA recommends that all aircraft operators check NOTAMs OFTEN for temporary airspace restrictions prior to operations within this region.

Specific instructions and restrictions are available at http://tfr.faa.gov once the NOTAM has been issued.

Adventures in Crosswinds

Topic: Think you have mastered crosswind landings? Think again. Join us for this great, interactive refresher on mastering this skill.
On Saturday, April 17, 2021 at 12:00 Pacific Daylight Time (13:00 MDT, 14:00 CDT, 15:00 EDT, 09:00 HST, 11:00 AKDT, 12:00 Arizona, 19:00 GMT)

Select Number:
WP15104628

Description:
Do you remember as a student pilot fearing crosswind landings? Perhaps at some level you still do. Did you find yourself avoiding great airport destinations because of hesitancy around even mild crosswinds? Were you taught to believe that landing in a crosswind is a different harder technique than a “normal” landing?

Dan Dyer and San Carlos Flight Center, the only flight school on the west coast with a crosswind simulator, is committed to training pilots competence in all landings. In this seminar, Dyer will take you step by step through all phases of landings with and without crosswinds, so that you approach every landing the same way. With a bit of practice you will land as easy as stopping your car at a stoplight. It’s part of the flight, no big deal, in fact it will become the best and most fun part of the flight.

Imagine approaching a landing with the same confidence you have with every landing. In fact you now even enjoy the challenge of a crosswind. Don’t miss out on this seminar to be a better pilot.

Dan Dyer is the founder of the San Carlos Flight Center, and has built the motto of Safety, Community, and Adventure for over 8 years. Dan was an instructor for 15 years, accumulated over 4,000 flight hours, and is the Bay Area’s local expert in crosswind landing instruction. He is known for finding simple and innovative ways to explain complex topics and regularly speaks on advanced ground school topics. Find out more about Dan at www.sancarlosflight.com or contact him at dan@sancarlosflight.com

To view further details and registration information for this webinar, click here.

IMC Club Meeting ( ONLINE ONLY ) Lincoln EAA 1541

Topic: IMC Topics Are Taken From Real Life Events and Discussed to Aid the Decision Making Process for Pilots.
On Wednesday, April 7, 2021 at 19:00 Pacific Daylight Time (20:00 MDT, 21:00 CDT, 22:00 EDT, 16:00 HST, 18:00 AKDT, 19:00 Arizona, 02:00 GMT)

Select Number:
WP25104317

Description:
This is an audience participation event. After a brief Audio/Video presentation we ask “What Would You Do”? Everyone is encouraged to join in the discussion. Videos depicting actual flights that encountered challenges are chosen from a library provided by EAA . Pilots of all skill levels are encouraged to attend. Click the link below for more information and to register TODAY.

To view further details and registration information for this webinar, click here.

Airplane Performance Charts and Tables

Topic: Pilots are often only taught how to read performance charts, but do you really know how your airplane is going to perform?
On Saturday, March 27, 2021 at 12:00 Pacific Daylight Time (13:00 MDT, 14:00 CDT, 15:00 EDT, 09:00 HST, 11:00 AKDT, 12:00 Arizona, 19:00 GMT)

Select Number:
WP15104263

Description:
Prior to certification, airplane manufacturers and the aerospace engineers that work for them, run exhaustive tests of new airplanes as they perform normal and emergency maneuvers in a variety of atmospheric and loading conditions. That critical performance information is communicated to future pilots through Section 5 of the POH – Aircraft Performance. Pilots must fully understand this section to fully understand their aircraft.

Although there is no single standard for the display of performance information, new pilots should be taught to decode performance information conveyed in both table format, or on performance graphs. Additionally, the complexity of performance information can also be found in footnotes, inset boxes, and textual addendum.

Join us on March 27, as San Carlos Flight Center CFI Brian Eliot reviews the publication and display of aircraft performance information and walks us through the most important types of charts and tables. If you are a new pilot, prepare to welcome in a tremendous amount of new information. If you are a high-time pilot, we think you will still enjoy this review of this critical part of knowing your aircraft.

Brian Eliot is San Carlos Flight Center’s Assistant Chief Pilot and resident expert for IFR training and Garmin G1000 avionics. He has been flying since 1995 and received all his training in the Bay Area. Brian previously worked as a broadcast engineer, a software developer, and taught computer science at both the undergraduate and graduate levels. He regularly presents at San Carlos Flight Center safety seminars and has a reputation for making complex concepts easy to learn and understand.

To view further details and registration information for this webinar, click here.

Human Performance and Decision Making and a Review of the Kobe Helo Accident

Topic: Human Performance and Decision Making and a Review of the Kobe Helo Accident
On Thursday, March 18, 2021 at 18:00 Pacific Daylight Time (19:00 MDT, 20:00 CDT, 21:00 EDT, 15:00 HST, 17:00 AKDT, 18:00 Arizona, 01:00 GMT)

Select Number:
WP11104309

Description:
Human Performance and Decision Making and a Review of the Kobe Helo Accident

To view further details and registration information for this webinar, click here.